15% Off 7, 8 and 9 Bowl Frosted Singing Bowl Sets. Use Code 15offsets
Mixolydian Mode Frosted Crystal Singing Bowl Set

Mixolydian Mode Frosted Crystal Singing Bowl Set

Calculated at Checkout

The Mixolydian Mode

A musical mode is a type of musical progression of notes with intentional melodic and emotional behavior. Some musical modes would be appropriate to use on somber occasions, while others would be appropriate to use in celebrations. In Western music, there are seven modern major modes, all very similar to one another. They have their root in the modes of the Ancient Greeks, though have been modified over time by centuries of composers and people in power.

The seven major modes, or scales, in Western music are the Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian and Locrian. These scales have seven notes, and we all know the Ionian, which is simply Do-Re-Mi-Fa-So-La-Ti, or the notes C-D-E-F-G-A-B. This is the mode that all chakra sets are sold in.

Here we are offering the Mixolydian mode as an alternative to the Ionian mode. An easy way of understanding the Mixolydian mode, is that it is the fifth mode in the succession of the 7 major modes in music. The first mode is the Ionian, which starts on C: C-D-E-F-G-A-B. As it is the fifth mode, the scale typically starts on the fifth note of G, and follows the succession of whole notes from there: G-A-B-C-D-E-F-G. For ease of sizing and continuity though, we are starting all of the major mode crystal bowl sets in the key of C. See the notes and sound files below for the correct musical notes.

The Mixolydian mode is very similar to the Ionian mode and only differs in one note. In the Ionian mode, the seventh note is a B, in the Mixolydian the seventh note is a A#. Like the Ionian, the Mixolydian is a highly harmonic sequence of notes. It is truly exquisite! You have the main harmonic series of C-E-G-C just as in the Ionian. Please play these in sequence below to here the amazing uplifting harmonic value of these bowls. Further changing the B to a A#, does not diminish the level of harmonic in the sequence, though changes the mood of the scale just slightly.

Each set comes standard with 8 o-rings, and 8 suede crystal bowl strikers. We only provide crystal bowl sets that are in perfect incremental tuning to each other. "Incremental" means the notes actually follow the scale accurately, from lowest note to highest note, as they would on a piano keyboard, in precise harmonic intervals. So a purchase from us is also the knowledge that you will be receiving a top of the line quality set. This set is tuned to perfect pitch. If an alternate tuning is desired, Contact Us. Please also reach out to us if you have anymore questions.

The sizes for bowls are as follows. These typically won't change, but we would let you know before shipment if they were to be different:

14" C

13" D

12" E

11" F

10" G

9" A

9" A#

8" C

The Mixolydian Scale Sound Files








High C